FAQ - Municipal Drinking Water Services

General Information

What are municipal/public water supplies?
Each province defines a municipal or public water supply differently. It is normally a centralized water service that serves a prescribed number of people. Throughout much of Canada these systems are operated by municipalities, however, an increasing number are being operated and in some cases owned by private companies.
What are municipal Water Supplies?
Each province defines a municipal or public water supply differently. It is normally a centralized water service that serves a prescribed number of people. Throughout much of Canada these systems are operated by municipalities, however, an increasing number are being operated and in some cases owned by private companies.
How many Canadians are served by municipal/public systems?
It is estimated that in 1999, 26.5 million Canadians received central water services.
How are they governed?
The governing of drinking water in Canada falls under provincial/territorial jurisdiction.
The provinces and territories are responsible for developing and enforcing all legislation pertaining to municipal and public water supplies including their construction and operation.
Are municipal/public drinking water supplies safe?
Municipal water suppliers generally conform to the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality and are required to obtain a Certificate of Approval for their treatment plant and distribution systems, which is related to the water source and the market served. This Certificate sets out testing and maintenance requirements. These facilities are further required to undergo routine testing and maintenance and to keep detailed records. Municipal water supplies under normal operating conditions, pose no risk to human health. On occasion, however, despite the best efforts of water suppliers and in some cases for reasons beyond their control, municipal water supplies can become contaminated either chemically or biologically. If this occurs, residents will be advised to take precautionary measures, such as boiling water before consuming it.
What are the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality?
The Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality published by Health Canada on behalf of the Federal Provincial Territorial Subcommittee on Drinking Water, establishes the health-based parameters for drinking water quality that are used by the provinces and territories to establish standards or objectives within each province or territory. They cover three types of parameters: microbiological, chemical and aesthetic.

Back to top

Operator Certification

What is operator certification?
In 1972, Environment Canada and the Federation of Associations on the Canadian Environment ( FACE ) sponsored a workshop attended by all provincial and territorial jurisdiction to establish a system of classifying all water and wastewater distribution, collection and treatment systems. This would also include a process of evaluating and certifying system operators ( certification, education and training (CET) committee).
Also in 1972, the Association of Boards of Certification (ABC) was formed supported by the American Water Works Association and Water Pollution Control Federation ( now the Water Environment Federation) to improve and promote operator certification and promote uniformity of standards and practices in operator certification throughout the United States.
In 1974, the Canadian group met in Charlottetown and adopted a set of guidelines for operator certification programs. ABC system was not adopted at that time because there was no flexibility in their certification system to make minor adjustments or recognize small systems. Since then, ABC’s standards have evolved satisfied the needs of the provincial and territorial certification systems. Today the following provinces and territories are members of ABC:
However the majority of the provinces and territories utilitize the sixteen generic Canadian standardize exams produced by ABC. The following summary identifies the status of the operator certification programs in the various provinces and territories.
What provinces require certified operators?
Certified Operators are required in the following provinces and territories:

Back to top

Water Quality

What influences water quality?
Water quality is profoundly and primarily affected by the nature and condition of the water source itself, somewhat affected by the materials used in the water systems infrastructure and by the treatment processes used.
Water from aquifers (groundwater) is generally considered to be microbiologically safe - the water entering them from the surface is filtered by passing through many metres of soils and geological layers. However, groundwater is also likely to be affected by the geological structure and may be hard (containing calcium ions) or have arsenic, iron, manganese, or other chemicals in them which may have to be removed.
Surface water from lakes or rivers on the other hand is presumed not to be microbiologically safe as it is likely to contain organic and fecal materials washed off land surfaces (particularly in farming areas but also from wild animals) and are also likely to be turbid (from very fine soil particles) or coloured by natural dyes and acids (from decomposing vegetation).

Back to top

Treatment Requirements

Why does water need to be treated?
Treatment technology and processes have been developed for municipal water systems to address microbiological, chemical and aesthetic issues with the raw water. Where the source water is a deep aquifer with a protected aquifer recharge area using deep wells and protected well heads, provincial authority is often granted for the system to simply pump the water from the ground and deliver it directly to customers of the water utility without even disinfection.
What treatment is required of municipal/public water systems?
Municipal water suppliers generally conform to the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality and are required to obtain a Certificate of Approval for their treatment plant and distribution systems, which is related to the water source and the market served. This Certificate sets out testing and maintenance requirements. These facilities are further required to undergo routine testing and maintenance and to keep detailed records.
Is disinfection of municipal water supplies required
Disinfection of water supplies is required in the following provinces:
Alberta all systems must provide disinfection
British Columbia all surface water supplies and any ground water that, in the opinion of a drinking water officer, is at risk of containing pathogens must be disinfected
Manitoba surface water supplies and groundwater under the influence of surface water must be disinfected
Newfoundland all community water supplies
Northwest Territories all surface water, and any groundwater that may be subject to contamination in the well or in storage reservoirs or mains
Nunavut all surface water, and any groundwater that may be subject to contamination in the well or in storage reservoirs or mains
Ontario all surface supplies, and groundwater unless an exemption is obtained
Prince Edward Island no requirements - however drinking water is solely from groundwater sources
Québec all surface water systems, any systems served by groundwater that are under the influence of surface water
Saskatchewan mandatory disinfection
What additional treatment requirements are placed on municipal/public water supplies?
Many of the provinces state specific treatment requirements in a facilities certificate of approval. However, the Province of Québec requires that municipalities using surface water supplies, provide both filtration and disinfection, groundwater only disinfection if under influence of surface water. The Government of Ontario requires disinfection and filtration of surface water supplies.

Back to top

Testing and Monitoring Water Quality

What is an accredited lab?
An accredited laboratory requires an ongoing demonstration of performance, evaluated through proficiency testing twice a year.
Capability is tested every two years through lab audits. Accreditation is given jointly by the Standards Council of Canada (a government agency) and Canada's National Accreditation Program for Environmental Laboratories (CAEAL), through a program called the Program for the Accrediation of Laboratories (PALCAN).
Which provinces require accredited labs for their water testing?
Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.

Back to top

Residential Water Treatment Devices

What type of residential treatment units are there?
There are two types of residential treatment devices available to consumers - Point-of-Use (POU) or Point-of-Entry (POE) devices. Some devices may be connected with other devices to form a treatment system . POU devices typically treat water in batches, for a single tap such as a kitchen sink faucet, or an auxiliary faucet mounted next to the kitchen sink. POE devices treat all water entering the home, prior to its distribution through the plumbing system - they are normally located immediately following the water meter, if any.
Residential water treatment devices can be installed in homes serviced by municipal water supply or in homes served with private water supply. Special consideration should be given to choosing and installing treatment devices in either case. In the former, because the municipal water supply will not normally require treatment other than perhaps to address aesthetic qualities such as taste and odour. For homes that are using private water supply, the likely need for a residential water treatment devices is greater as the water supply may need filtering, softening, or disinfection, etc before it should be used.
There are six broad categories of treatment devices: particle filters, water softeners and greensand filters, disinfection devices, carbon filters, reverse osmosis devices, and distillation devices. They will be described in subsequent information sheets.
When should I use a residential treatment unit?
Manufacturers of many of these devices recommend that they be used only on water which is coming from a municipal source or from water which is known to be microbiologically safe. In all cases, potential users of these devices should know what is the quality of their water supply before determining that any device is needed, or which device or devices should be installed or used. In the case of municipal supplies, the water utility itself can and will provide this information on demand if it is not already published in a consumer confidence report or on their web site. In the case of private water supplies, the home-owner should have a comprehensive set of tests completed on the water source.
Which device should I buy?
The intended purpose and capability of the device will be described by the manufacturer in the specification sheets that come with the device or on its packaging, along with any specific performance claims such as for the removal of chemical contaminants. Performance claims are discussed in the next section of this fact sheet. Potential users of any home treatment device or system, should carefully read the manufacturers’ specification sheets and performance claims before selecting and using any particular device. In addition, the owner of the device should maintain the device in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations in order to ensure safe water quality.
 
Some devices may be certified as meeting requirements as set by such organizations as the Canadian Water Quality Association or the U.S.-based Water Quality Association (which are Associations of the manufacturers or distributors of such devices) as meeting the ANSI/NSF1 Standards of performance for the removal or reduction in the level of contaminants in, or redressing the aesthetic qualities of the water being treated2. For a drinking water treatment system to become NSF Certified, it must meet five basic requirements:
  1. Any contaminant reduction claims are true.
  2. The system does not add anything harmful to the water.
  3. The system is structurally sound.
  4. The advertising, literature and labeling are not misleading.
  5. The materials and manufacturing process used do not change.
For more information download the CWWA infosheet on residential treatment units.

Back to top

FAQ - Services municipaux des eaux potables

 

Informations Générales

Quels sont les approvisionnements en eau municipale/publique?

Chaque province définit différemment l’approvisionnement en eau municipale ou publique. Généralement, un service central de l’eau dessert un nombre défini de personnes. Bien que ces systèmes soient exploités presque partout au Canada par les municipalités, un nombre croissant de systèmes sont en court d’exploitation et appartiennent parfois à des entreprises privées.

Combien de Canadiens sont desservis par des systèmes municipaux / publics?

En 1999, on a estimé que 26,5 millions de Canadiens étaient desservis par des services centraux de gestion de l’eau.

Comment sont-ils administrés?

L’administration de l’eau potable relève de l’autorité provinciale/territoriale.

Les provinces et territoires sont responsables du développement et du renforcement de toute législation se rapportant aux approvisionnements en eau municipale et publique. La construction et l’exploitation relèvent également de leur autorité.

Les approvisionnements en eaux municipales / publiques sont-ils sans danger ?

Les fournisseurs municipaux de l’eau se conforment généralement aux Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada et doivent obtenir un Certificat d’approbation pour leurs usines de traitement et leurs systèmes de distribution, certificat qui est lié à la source d’eau et au marché desservi. Ce certificat établit des exigences de contrôle et de maintenance. Les infrastructures des fournisseurs sont de plus en plus soumises à des contrôles, des maintenances de routine et doivent préserver des rapports détaillés. Les approvisionnements en eau municipale, sous des conditions d’exploitation normales, ne posent aucun problème pour la santé humaine. Cependant, il arrive occasionnellement que malgré les meilleurs efforts des fournisseurs d’eau et parfois pour des raisons hors de leur contrôle, les approvisionnements en eau peuvent être contaminés soit chimiquement soit biologiquement. Si cela arrive, les résidents doivent être conseillés afin de prendre des mesures de précaution comme, par exemple, faire bouillir l’eau avant de la consommer.

Quels sont les Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada?

Les Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada publiées par Santé Canada au nom du Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur l'eau potable établissent les périmètres de base en santé pour la qualité de l’eau potable. Ces périmètres sont utilisés par les provinces et territoires afin de mettre en place des normes ou des objectifs dans chacun de leur province et territoire. Les Recommandations traitent de trois types de paramètres : microbiologique, chimique et esthétique.

Retour au haut de la page

Acréditation des exploitants

Qu’est-ce que l’accréditation des exploitants ?

En 1972, Environnement Canada et la Federation of Associations on the Canadian Environment (FACE) ont soutenu un atelier suivi par toute la juridiction fédérale et provinciale pour établir un système de classification de tous les systèmes de distribution, de collecte et de traitement en eaux potables et usées. Cela devait aussi inclure un processus d’évaluation et de certification des exploitants de systèmes (comité pour l’accréditation, l’enseignement et la formation (CET)).

La même année, l’Association of Boards of Certification a été soutenu par l’American Water Works Association et par la Water Pollution Control Federation (devenue la Water Environment Federation) pour améliorer et promouvoir non seulement l’accréditation des opérateurs mais aussi des normes et pratiques uniformisées des accréditations d’opérateurs partout au États-Unis.

En 1974, le Groupe canadien s’est réuni à Charlottetown et a adopté un ensemble de recommandations pour les programmes d’accréditation des opérateurs. Le système ABC n’a pas été adopté à cette époque par manque de flexibilité dans les systèmes de certification provinciaux et territoriaux pour faire des ajustements mineurs ou reconnaître de petits systèmes. Depuis lors, les normes ABC ont évolué pour satisfaire les besoins des systèmes d’accréditation provinciaux et territoriaux. Les provinces et territoires cités ci-dessous font actuellement partis de l’ABC :

  • Atlantic Canada Water and Wastewater Voluntary Certification Program (Newfoundland & Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick)
  • Ontario Water and Wastewater Operator Licensing Program
  • Manitoba Water and Wastewater Association
  • Saskatchewan Operator Certification Program
  • Alberta Environment
  • British Columbia Environmental Operators Certification Program
  • Northern Territories Water and Wastewater Association

Cependant, la majorité des provinces et des territoires utilisent les seizièmes examens de normes génériques canadiennes produites par ABC . Le sommaire suivant identifie le statut des programmes d’accréditation des exploitants dans les différentes provinces et territoires.

Quelles-sont les provinces exigeant des exploitants accrédités?

L’accréditation des exploitants est obligatoire dans les provinces et territoires suivant :

Retour au haut de la page

Qualité de l’Eau

Qu’est ce qui peut influencer la qualité de l’eau?

La qualité de l’eau est profondément et principalement touchée par la nature et l’état de la source d’eau elle-même. La qualité de l’eau est aussi affectée par les matériaux utilisés dans les systèmes d’infrastructure de l’eau et par les procédés de traitement utilisés.

On considère généralement que l’eau aquifère (eau souterraine) est microbiologiquement sûre puisque qu’avant de passer dans les eaux souterraines, celle-ci est filtrée par de nombreux mètres de sols et de couches géologiques. Cependant, l’eau souterraine va très probablement être touchée par la structure géologique et peut-être même durement (en contenant des ions de calcium). L’eau souterraine peut contenir de l’arsenic, du fer, du manganèse ou autres produits chimiques qui doivent être enlevés avant la consommation.

En revanche, les eaux de surfaces comme celles des lacs ou des rivières ne sont pas présumées microbiologiquement sûres puisqu’elles contiennent des matériaux organiques et fécaux provenant des terres agricoles (particulièrement à cause des zones agricoles et des animaux sauvages). Ces eaux sont souvent troubles (à cause de nombreuses particules du sol) ou colorées par les acides et teintures naturelles (dues à la décomposition naturelle).

Retour au haut de la page

Exigence de traitement

Pourquoi l’eau a-t-elle besoin d’être traitée?

Les technologies et les procédés de traitement ont été développés pour les systèmes d’eaux municipales afin d'aborder les questions microbiologiques, chimiques et d'esthétiques avec l'eau brute. Lorsque la source d'eau est un aquifère profond avec une zone de recharge de l'aquifère protégée à l'aide de puits profonds et les têtes de puits protégées, l'autorité provinciale est souvent accordé au système pour simplement pomper l'eau du sol et le livrer directement à des clients du service d'eau sans même désinfecter

Quel sont les traitements nécessaires pour les systèmes d’eaux municipales/publiques?

Les fournisseurs municipaux de l’eau se conforment généralement aux Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada et doivent obtenir un Certificat d’approbation pour leurs usines de traitement et leurs systèmes de distribution. Certificat qui est lié à la source d’eau et au marché desservi. Ce certificat établit des exigences de contrôle et de maintenance. Les infrastructures des fournisseurs sont de plus en plus soumises à des contrôles, des maintenances de routine et doivent préserver des rapports détaillés.

La désinfection des approvisionnements d’eaux municipales est-elle obligatoire?

La désinfection des approvisionnements d’eaux municipales est obligatoire dans les provinces suivantes   :

Alberta

Tous les systèmes doivent procéder à la désinfection de l’eau

Colombie-Britannique

Tous les approvisionnements en eau de surface et toute eau souterraine, suite à l’avis d’un responsable des eaux potables, représentant un risque de contenir des pathogènes doivent être désinfectées

Manitoba

Les eaux de surface et les eaux souterraines étant sous l’influence des eaux de surface doivent être désinfectées

Terre-Neuve

Tous les approvisionnements en eau

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Toutes les eaux de surfaces et toute eau souterraine qui aurait pu être sujette à une contamination dans un puits, un réservoir de stockage ou une conduite majeure

Nunavut

Toutes les eaux de surfaces et toute eau souterraine qui aurait pu être sujette à une contamination dans un puits, un réservoir de stockage ou une conduite majeure

Ontario

Toutes les eaux de surface et souterraines sans obtention d’une exception

Île-du-Prince-Edward

Aucune obligation – en revanche, l’eau potable provient exclusivement des eaux souterraines

Québec

Tous les systèmes d’eau de surface, tous système alimenté par les eaux souterraines qui sont sous l’influence des eaux de surface

Saskatchewan

Désinfection obligatoire

Quelles-sont les exigences supplémentaires au niveau des approvisionnements municipaux / public en eau?

Beaucoup de provinces exposent des obligations spécifiques de traitement dans des certificats d’infrastructure d’approbation. Cependant, la province du Québec exige que les municipalités utilisant des approvisionnements d’eau de surface prévoient de les filtrer et de les désinfecter. Seule la désinfection des eaux souterraines est requise lors celles-ci sont sous l’influence des eaux de surface. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario exige la désinfection et la filtration des approvisionnements en eaux de surface.  

Retour au haut de la page

Contrôle et Surveillance de la Qualité de l’Eau

 Qu’est-ce qu’un laboratoire accrédité?

Un laboratoire accrédité exige une démonstration continue de performance évaluée deux fois par an sur les compétences.

La capacité est évaluée tous les deux ans avec des laboratoires d’audits. L’accréditation est délivrée conjointement par le Conseil des normes du Canada (une agence gouvernementale) et le Programme d’accréditation national pour les laboratoires environnementaux, à travers un programme nommé le Programme pour l’Accréditation des Laboratoires.

Quelles-sont les provinces exigeant que leur eau soit testée par des laboratoires accrédités?

L’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique, le Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve, la Nouvelle-Écosse, l’Ontario, le Québec et le Saskatchewan exigent que leurs eaux soient testées par des laboratoires accrédités.

Retour au haut de la page

Les Appareils de Traitement de l’Eau Résidentielle

Quels types d’unité de traitement résidentiel sont implantés au Canada?

Il existe deux types d’appareils de traitement de l’eau résidentielle disponibles aux consommateurs : les appareils aux Point d’usage (PU) ou aux Point d’entrée (PE). Quelques appareils peuvent être branchés à d’autres appareils pour former un système de traitement. Les appareils au PU traitent typiquement l’eau des bains, pour un seul robinet comme un robinet d’évier ou un robinet d’appoint monté à côté de l’évier. Les appareils au PE traitent toutes les eaux entrant dans la maison, avant leur distribution dans le système de plomberie. Ils sont généralement situés juste après le compteur d’eau, s’il y en a un.

Les appareils de traitement de l’eau résidentielle peuvent être installés dans les maisons approvisionnées en eau municipale ou en eau délivrée par le privé. Une plus grande attention devrait être portée afin de choisir et d’installer des appareils de traitement.

Dans les anciennes maisons et infrastructures d’approvisionnement en eau, des appareils devraient être installés car les services municipaux d’approvisionnement ne sont normalement pas obligés de traiter l’eau sauf peut-être d’offrir des qualités esthétiques comme le goût et l’odeur. Pour les maisons qui utilisent un approvisionnement en eau privé, le besoin pour des appareils de traitement de l’eau résidentielle est plus grand. En effet, l’eau peut avoir besoin d’être filtrée, adoucie ou désinfectée, etc. avant d’être utilisée.

Il existe six catégories d’appareils de traitement : les filtres particulaires, les adoucisseurs d’eau et les filtres de sable « vert », les dispositifs de désinfection, les filtres carboniques, les dispositifs d’osmose inversé et de distillation. Ces procédés seront décrits dans les fiches d’information qui suivent.

Quand devrais-je utiliser une unité de traitement résidentielle?

Les fabricants de beaucoup de ces appareils recommandent que ces unités ne soient utilisées que sur l’eau provenant d’une source municipale ou sur une eau reconnue pour être microbiologiquement saine. Dans tous les cas, les utilisateurs potentiels de ces appareils doivent savoir quelle est la qualité de leur approvisionnement en eau avant de déterminer si un dispositif est nécessaire, ou si un ou plusieurs appareils doivent être installés ou utilisés. Dans le cas des approvisionnements municipaux, le fournisseur de l’eau lui-même peut et devra fournir ces informations sur demande si elles ne sont pas encore publiées dans un rapport pour la confiance des consommateurs ou sur leur site Internet. Dans le cas des approvisionnements privés, le service des eaux lui-même peut ou pourra fournir cette information sur demande si elle n’est pas déjà publiée dans un rapport pour la confiance des consommateurs ou sur leur site Internet.

Quel appareil devrais-je acheter?

Le but prédéterminé et la capacité de l’appareil doivent être décrits par le fabricant dans des feuillets d’information spécifiques joints à l’appareil ou dans son emballage. Les feuillets doivent contenir toute performance spécifique déclarée, comme pour le déplacement des polluants chimiques. Les performances déclarées sont débattues dans la section suivante de cette fiche d’information. Les utilisateurs potentiels de n’importe quel appareil ou système de traitement résidentiel doivent lire soigneusement les feuillets d’information et les performances déclarées avant de choisir et d’utiliser un appareil particulier. De plus, le propriétaire de l’appareil doit entretenir l’appareil conformément aux recommandations des fabricants pour assurer la qualité d’une eau sûre.

Certains appareils ont remplis les exigences établies par des organisations d’accréditation comme la Canadian Water Quality Association ou la Water Quality Association , basée aux États-Unis (qui sont des associations de fabricants ou de distributeurs de tels appareils). D’autres ont atteint les normes de performance ANSI/NSF1 pour l’extraction ou la réduction du niveau de polluants dans l’eau traitée, ou pour croître les qualités esthétiques de l’eau de l’eau traitée. Pour que les systèmes de traitement de l’eau potable soient certifiés NSF, cinq exigences de base doivent être réunies :

Pour plus d’information téléchargez la fiche info de l’ACEPU sur les unités de traitement résidentielles (disponible uniquement en anglais).

Retour au haut de la page