FAQ - Municipal Wastewater Services

General Information

What happens to waste after I flush my toilet?
The wastes leave your home through a collection system that takes the wastes to the local wastewater treatment facility. The facility type may vary from municipality to municipality depending on the population served and the age of the community.
Who is responsible for the infrastructure, and operates and maintains the facilities?
The collection and treatment systems are usually owned and operated by a municipality. The municipality will be responsible for maintaining the infrastructure and operating the facility. In large regional governments, the regional government and local municipalities may share in the costs and operations of the system. There are some systems in Canada that have been privatised and therefore are operated by a private company.
What types of treatment are there for domestic sewage?
The conventional levels of treatment are referred to as primary, secondary, and tertiary (or advanced secondary). Primary may include a preliminary step that simply removes large objects by screening. Primary usually includes a screening and settling process where large objects and solid materials are allowed to settle by physical means to the tank bottom. These are removed and land filled.
Secondary treatment is a biological process that includes an aerated and unaerated stage which assist different types of microbes to digest the solid organic waste materials. Other chemicals may be added to the process train for removal of phosphorus. New technologies may be added in various permutations and combinations to enhance treatment, removing specific contaminants. These latter additions suggest an advanced secondary or tertiary treatment.
Does this treatment remove everything?
Historically, sewage treatment was designed to treat human organic wastes. As the population has grown, and technology has advanced more and more different substances find their way into the municipal sewer systems and we expect the treatment process to remove them. The conventional levels of treatment are referred to as primary, secondary, and tertiary, or advanced secondary treatment. Each higher level of treatment removes additional types of substance. For example, primary treatment is a physical form that removes large objects by settling. Secondary treatment includes a biological component that works to settle out solids and decomposes organic material. The tertiary or advanced secondary treatment adds another permutation or combination of processes that removes more solids and some soluble substances. However, there are many substances that none of these processes will remove that then may become environmental and human health concerns.
What happens to the solids components of the wastewater?
Through each step of the treatment process, depending on the level of treatment, solids are removed from tanks and may be taken to landfill or reintroduced into another phase of the treatment process for additional treatment. The final treated solids (sewage sludge) can be called "Biosolids" if they have been treated sufficiently to remove contaminants and meet requirements for use on agricultural land.

Stormwater

Who is responsible for storm sewers and where do they go?
Storm sewers are part of a municipality’s collection system and are the responsibility of the municipality. The materials put into storm sewers go directly to the nearest receiving stream. It is too expensive to treat large volumes of water at the wastewater treatment facility that may be largely rain water. However, there are still contaminants entering the environment through these systems.
What is a CSO?
A CSO, or combined sewer overflow, is usually found in older, larger cities before separating sewers was practised. The sewers usually convey storm water to a receiving body of water, but when excessive flows occur, greater than the hydraulic capacity of the system, sewage overflows into these pipes and mixes with the storm water. The mixture with untreated sewage is released to the environment.

Regulations

Are treatment facilities required to monitor and report on what comes into their facility and what leaves?
Each facility requires a permit, licence or certificate of approval to operate and discharge. Each jurisdiction has somewhat different requirements and these should be referred to by going to the legislative database for the jurisdiction of interest. Reporting of what leaves their plant is important to meet the permit requirements. Influent is not generally a requirement, other than if the operator knows the quantity and quality of the influent then he/she can better adjust their system accordingly. The municipality monitors the discharges and reports to the province. The federal government requires that there not be any substance discharged that could be deleterious to fish or fish habitat. This may contradict the provincial requirement in that they may allow certain limits of substances be discharged that could be deleterious.
How is each level of government involved in municipal wastewater management?
The federal government provides some funding for infrastructure through various infrastructure programs. Provinces and municipalities usually match these funds. The municipality builds, operates and maintain the infrastructure (collection and treatment). The province is responsible for ensuring environment impact assessments are undertaken and followed. They also then set out requirements in a permit, licence or certificate of approval for the quality and quantity of the discharge and overall facility operation. The municipality is responsible for meeting the requirements and the province is responsible for monitoring and ensuring they are met. The federal government is responsible for making sure the federal Fisheries Act is implemented with respect to fisheries habitat and non-deleterious discharges, and to enforce the Canadian Environmental Protection Act. The federal government is responsible for ensuring there are no transboundary pollution problems (e.g. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement).

Source Control

What is a sewer-use by-law?
A sewer-use by-law is a tool developed by a province and/or municipality to control inputs to the sanitary sewer system. Industrial discharges to the sewer are identified and certain substances are limited by quantity and quality and time of discharge so not to disrupt the normal flow patterns or upset the treatment process. Substances to be monitored will be dependent on the type of industrial input (i.e. high technology versus chemical manufacturing, etc.). The industry may pay a sewer surcharge to the municipality to have their waste accepted. This is an excellent tool to assist in reducing contaminants to the environment either directly to water or through use of Biosolids.
Are homeowners regulated as to what they put down the drain?
There are no specific regulations but homeowners should be aware that anything that goes into the toilet or down the drain that causes a problem may be traced back to the specific home. Any damage done between the house and street is the responsibility of the homeowner.
Do industries and institutions discharge to the municipal sewer system?
Yes, industries and institutions discharge to the municipal sewer system. Some large industries or institutions may have their own treatment facilities but they are required to meet certain criteria and obtain an operating certificate, licence or permit.

Back to top

Services Municipaux des eaux usées

Informations Générales

Qu’arrive-t-il aux excréments lorsque je tire ma chasse d’eau?

Les excréments sont évacués de votre maison par un système de collecte vers une station d’épuration des eaux usées locales. Le type de station peut varier d’une municipalité à l’autre par rapport à la population desservie et à l’âge de la communauté.

Qui est responsable des infrastructures et exploite et entretient les équipements?

Les systèmes de collecte et d’épuration sont généralement exploités et appartiennent aux municipalités. La municipalité est responsable de l’entretien de l’infrastructure et de l’exploitation de la station. Dans les grandes régions, le gouvernement régional et les municipalités locales peuvent partager le coût et l’exploitation du système. Quelques systèmes ont été privatisés au Canada et sont donc exploités par des entreprises privées.

Quels types de traitement existe-t-il pour les eaux usées domestiques?

Le traitement consiste en trois étapes principales nommées primaire, secondaire et tertiaire (ou secondaire avancée). L’étape primaire peut inclure une étape préliminaire qui consiste à enlever les objets larges par le dégrillage. Habituellement l’étape primaire inclut un processus de dégrillage et de tamisage qui permet aux objets larges et aux matériaux solides de se déposer par des moyens physiques au fond du bassin de décantation. Ils sont éliminés et de forment un lit de boues.

Le traitement secondaire est un processus biologique qui inclut une étape aérée et non aérée qui aide les différents types de microbes à digérer les matériaux d’excrément organiques solides. D’autres produits chimiques peuvent être ajoutés au processus en cours pour enlever les phosphores. De nouvelles technologies peuvent être ajoutées dans diverses permutations et combinaisons pour améliorer le traitement et l’enlèvement de polluants spécifiques. Ces derniers compléments suggèrent une avancés du traitement secondaire et tertiaire.

Ce traitement permet-il de tout enlever?

Historiquement, le traitement des eaux usées a été conçu pour traiter les excréments humains solides. Au fur et à mesure que la population a augmenté et que la technologie a avancé, de plus en plus de substances différentes ont trouvé leur chemin dans les systèmes d’égouts municipaux. Or, l’on attend de ce processus d’épuration qu’il élimine toutes ces substances. Les étapes principales de traitement sont nommées primaire, secondaire et tertiaire ou secondaire avancée. Chaque étape supérieure de traitement élimine des types de substances additionnels. Par exemple, le traitement primaire est un processus physique qui élimine des objets larges par dégrillage. Le traitement secondaire inclut un composant biologique qui œuvre au tamisage des solides et à la décomposition de la matière organique. Le traitement tertiaire ou secondaire avancé ajoute une autre permutation où la combinaison de processus élimine plus de solides et de substances solubles. Cependant, de nombreuses substances ne sont pas éliminées par ces processus. Elles peuvent alors devenir des problèmes environnementaux et de santé humaine.

Qu’arrive-t-il aux composants solides des eaux usées?

À chaque étape du processus de traitement, selon l’étape de traitement, les solides sont éliminés des bassins et peuvent soit être enfouis soit être réintroduits dans une autre phase du processus de traitement pour un traitement additionnel. Le traitement final des solides (les boues d’épuration) peut-être appelé « biosolides » s’ils ont été suffisamment traités pour éliminer les contaminants et satisfaire les exigences pour un usage dans les terres agricoles.

Retour au haut de la page

Eaux Pluviales

Qui est responsable des égouts pluviaux et où vont-ils?

Les égouts pluviaux font parti d’un réseau de collecte municipale. Les égouts pluviaux relèvent de la responsabilité de la municipalité. Les matériaux mis dans les égouts pluviaux vont directement dans les cours d’eau avoisinants. Le traitement de grands volumes d’eau à la station d’épuration des eaux usées est trop dispendieux d’autant plus qu’une grande partie de cette eau doit être de l’eau de pluie. Il y a cependant toujours des polluants qui entrent dans l’environnement par l’intermédiaire de ces systèmes.

Qu’est-ce qu’un TPEU?

Un TPEU, ou Trop plein d’égouts unitaires, peut-être habituellement trouvé dans les grandes et vieilles villes avant que les égouts ne soient séparés. Les égouts transportent habituellement les eaux de pluies vers un bassin recevant l’eau. Le mélange avec des eaux usées domestiques non traitées est déversé dans l’environnement.

Retour au haut de la page

Règlements

Les stations d’épuration doivent-elles surveiller et rapporter ce qui entre et sort de la station?

Chaque station a besoin d’un permis ou d’un certificat d’approbation pour exploiter et déverser. Chaque juridiction a des exigences quelques peu différentes. Les exigences en application devraient être mentionnées à la base de données législative pour la juridiction d’intérêt. Rapporter ce que déverse la station est important pour satisfaire les exigences de permis. L’influent n’est généralement pas une exigence, sauf si l’exploitant connait la quantité et la qualité de l’influent et peut en conséquence ajuster au mieux son système. La municipalité surveille les déversements et les rapporte à la province. Le gouvernement fédéral exige qu’aucune substance déversée ne puisse être néfaste pour la pêche ou pour les poissons et leurs habitats. Or, cela peut s’opposer aux exigences provinciales qui peuvent autoriser le déversement une certaine limite de substances néfastes.

Comment chaque niveau de gouvernements est-il impliqué dans la gestion des eaux usées municipales?

Le gouvernement fédéral délivre quelques financements pour les infrastructures par l’intermédiaire de différents programmes de financements. Les financements des provinces et municipalités correspondent généralement aux financements fédéraux. La municipalité construit, exploite et entretient l’infrastructure (collecte et traitement). La province doit s’assurer que les contrôles sont effectués et respectés. Ils posent aussi des obligations pour le permis, la licence ou le certificat d’approbation sur la qualité et la quantité du déversement et sur l’ensemble de la station d’épuration. La municipalité doit satisfaire ces exigences et la province doit surveiller et veiller à ce qu’elles soient respectées. Le gouvernement fédéral doit s’assurer que la Loi fédérale sur les pêches soit mise en œuvre en ce qui concerne les habitats de poissons et les déversements non néfastes et de mettre en application la Loi Canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement. Le gouvernement fédéral doit s’assurer qu’il n’y ait pas de problèmes de pollution transfrontaliers (par exemple avec l’Accord relatif à la qualité de l’eau dans les Grands Lacs).

Retour au haut de la page

Contrôle de la source

Qu’est-ce qu’un règlement d’utilisation des égouts?

Un règlement d’utilisation des égouts est un outil développé par une province et/ou municipalité pour contrôler les apports au réseau sanitaire des égouts. Les déversements industriels dans les égouts sont identifiés, certaines substances sont limitées en quantité et qualité et le temps de déversement ne doit pas perturber le schéma habituel de flux ou renverser le processus de traitement. Les substances qui sont surveillées dépendent du type d’apport industriel (c’est-à-dire des hautes technologies contre la fabrication de produits chimiques, etc.). L’industrie peut payer une surtaxe d’égout à la municipalité pour pouvoir déverser ses déchets. C’est un excellent outil pour aider à la réduction des polluants dans l’environnement directement dans l’eau ou par l’utilisation de biosolides.

Existe-t-il une réglementation pour les propriétaires de maison sur ce qu’ils rejettent dans les canalisations?

Il n’existe pas de réglementations spécifiques, mais les propriétaires de maison devraient savoir que tout ce qui passe par les toilettes ou par les canalisations et qui cause un problème peut être retracé. Le propriétaire est responsable de tout dommage réalisé entre sa maison et la rue.

Les industries et les institutions déversent-elles dans le réseau municipal des égouts?

Oui, les industries et institutions déversent dans le réseau municipal des égouts. Quelques grandes industries ou institutions peuvent avoir leur propre station d’épuration mais ces stations doivent satisfaire certains critères et obtenir un certificat d’exploitation, une licence ou un permis.

Retour au haut de la page