International Water Celebrations

World Water Day

The United Nations General Assembly adopted resolution A/RES/47/193 in 1992 by which 22 March of each year was declared World Day for Water, to be observed starting in 1993, in conformity with the recommendations of the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development contained in chapter 18 (Fresh Water Resources) of Agenda 21. States were invited to devote the Day, as appropriate in the national context, to concrete activities such as the promotion of public awareness through the publication and diffusion of documentaries and the organization of conferences, round tables, seminars and expositions related to the conservation and development of water resources and the implementation of the recommendations of Agenda 21.

Click here for more information.

Back to top

Drinking Water Week

Water utilities across North America  join with their communities to celebrate our most precious natural resource with fairs, programs, contests and other exciting events throughout the week.

A safe, reliable water supply is critical to the success of any community. It creates jobs, attracts industry and investment, and provides for the health and welfare of citizens in ways ranging from disease prevention to fire suppression. We often take water resources for granted unless we are living through a drought or when depleted water supplies threaten a community's future. Water plays a vital role in our daily lives, and this year AWWA celebrated what Only Tap Water Delivers that no other water can.

Drinking Water Week 2009 is on May 3-9, 2009.

Back to top

Inter American Water Day

Origin and Meaning

The Inter-American Water Day was created in 1992 by means of a declaration signed by the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), the Inter-American Association of Sanitary and Environmental Engineering (AIDIS) and the Caribbean Water And Wastewater Association (CWWA). Its objective is to pay tribute to water as the basis of our existence. We do this on the first Saturday of October every year. The commemoration of this special day highlights the importance of water for the well-being, health and sustainable development of all humankind.

The meaning of this day expresses the existence of shared values in all American countries, underlines the sense of Pan-Americanism, and reinforces the collective interest in water, life and health.

For more information visit the Inter-American Water Day website.

Back to top

World Toilet Day

19 November was declared 'World Toilet Day' in 2001 by 17 toilet associations around the world. Since then there has been established an annual World Toilet Summit and many other regional conferences. Each toilet association has also engaged in many activities promoting clean toilets in their own respective country.

Since 2001, World Toilet Day has become a global platform for academics, sanitation experts, toilet designers, environmentalists, etc. to share the latest on rural and urban toilets.

The World Toilet Organisation asks each individual, in their respective country, to request better equality (more facilities for women); more accessibility & special provisions (for the disabled & mothers with babies); clean toilets (for everyone); and more toilets (for the less fortunate).

About World Toilet Organisation (

The World Toilet Organisation has the following objectives:

Back to top

World Consumer Rights Day

Consumers International (CI) has called upon the international community to ensure that safe water and proper sanitation reaches all of the world's six billion consumers. 'Water is a consumer right' is the theme of the World Consumer Rights Day 2004, celebrated on 15 March.

Consumers International, which represents over 250 consumer organisations in 115 countries, is asking all its member organisations to take the message about water and sanitation to their government and agencies.

The key facts about water are explained in CI's special publication Waterworks: A consumer advocacy guide to water and sanitation. The kit provides an overview of the key issues that underpin the debates on water. It focuses on the issues where consumer organisations are most vocal including maccess, ownership, delivery, costs, public policies and the environment.

Back to top

Célébrations internationales au sujet de l'eau

Journée mondiale de l'eau

L'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté en 1992 la résolution A/RES/47/193 qui déclara le 22 mars de chaque année "Journée mondiale de l'eau", à compter de l'année 1993, conformément aux recommandations de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement et le développement (CNUED), exprimées dans le Chapitre 18 (Ressources en eau douce) d'Action 21. Cette résolution invitait les États à consacrer ce jour selon le contexte national, en concrétisant des actions telles que la sensibilisation du public par des publications, des diffusions de documentaires, l'organisation de conférences, de tables rondes, de séminaires et d'expositions liés à la conservation et au développement des ressources en eau et à la mise en œuvre des recommandations d'Action 21.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations

Semaine de l'eau potable

Les services d’eau de toute l’Amérique du nord vont se joindre à leur communauté pour célébrer notre ressource naturelle la plus précieuse à travers des congrès, des programmes spéciaux, des compétitions et pleins d’autres événements tout aussi excitants tout au long de cette semaine.

Un approvisionnement en eau sécuritaire et fiable est essentiel au succès de n’importe quelle communauté. Cela créé des emplois, attire l’industrie et les investissements, et contribue à la santé et au bien-être de citoyens avec des actions possibles allant de la prévention des maladies à la lutte contre les incendies. On pense souvent que nos ressources en eau nous sont acquises à jamais jusqu’à l’arrivée d’une sécheresse ou lorsque l’avenir d’une communauté est menacé par un approvisionnement en eau épuisé. L’eau joue un rôle vital dans notre vie quotidienne, cette année AWWA célèbre ce que l’eau du robinet apporte que l’eau seule ne peut pas nous apporter.

Site de la Drinking Water Week

Retour en haut

Journée interaméricaine de l’eau

Origine et signification

La Journée interaméricaine de l'eau a été créée en 1992 suite à une déclaration signée entre l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé (PAHO), l'Association interaméricaine de la technologie environnementale et sanitaire (AIDIS) et de l'Association des eaux potable et usées de Caraïbes (CWWA). Son objectif est de rendre hommage à l'eau comme fondement de l'existence humaine. La Journée est célébrée chaque année, le premier samedi du mois d'octobre et elle met en évidence l'importance de l'eau pour la santé, le bien-être et le développement durable de l'humanité entier.

La signification de ce jour est l'expression des valeurs partagées par tous les pays américains; elle souligne le rôle de l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé (PAHO), et appuie l'intérêt collectif pour l'eau, la vie et la santé.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez visiter le site Internet de l’ Inter-American Water Day.

Journée mondiale des toilettes

Le 19 novembre a été déclaré « Journée mondiale des toilettes » en 2001 par 17 associations de toilettes du monde entier. Depuis cette période a été établi un sommet mondial sur les toilettes et de nombreuses autres conférences régionales. Chaque association des toilettes s’est également engagée dans de nombreuses activités de promotion pour des toilettes propres dans leurs pays respectifs.

Depuis 2001, la journée mondiale des toilettes est devenue le rendez-vous mondial d’universitaires, d’experts en assainissement, de designers de toilettes, d’environnementalistes etc. qui discutent des dernières nouvelles au sujet de toilettes urbaines ou rurales.

L’organisation mondiale des toilettes demande à chaque individu, dans leur pays respectif, d’exiger une meilleure égalité (plus d’équipements pour les femmes); une meilleure accessibilité et des équipements adaptés (pour les handicapés et les mères avec leurs bébés); des toilettes propres (pour tout le monde); et plus de toilettes (pour les moins fortunés).

Au sujet de la World Toilet Organisation (www.worldtoilet.org)

L’organisation mondiale des toilettes a pour objectifs :

Retour en haut

Journée sur les droits des consommateurs

Consumers International (CI) en a appelé à la communauté internationale pour garantir qu’une eau sécuritaire et des assainissements appropriés soient accessibles aux six milliards de consommateurs de la planète. « L’eau est un droit des consommateurs » est ainsi le thème de la journée mondiale des droits des consommateurs de 2004 célébré le 15 mars.

Consumers International, qui représente plus de 250 organisations de consommateurs dans 115 pays, a demandé à toutes ses organisations membres de porter le message sur l’eau et l’assainissement auprès de leurs gouvernements et agences de règlementations.

Les faits essentiels au sujet de l’eau sont dépeints dans la publication spéciale de CI « Waterworks: A consumer advocacy guide to water and sanitation ». Ce kit donne une vue d’ensemble des enjeux clefs qui nourrissent les débats sur l’eau. Il se concentre sur les enjeux où les organisations de consommateurs ont le plus de voix, à savoir le droit à l'accès, la propriété, la livraison, les dépenses, la politique publique et l'environnement.

Retour en haut