Partnering Agreements
Union of African Water Suppliers and CWWA

The Canadian Water and Wastewater Association and the Union of African Water Suppliers seek, through this agreement, to establish a strong partnership between our organizations.

Our common purposes is to improve the quality of life through the protection and enhancement of the water environment.

Our common objectives are that all people may have access to clean safe water, and that suitable habitat for diverse aquatic species be preserved.

Our common methods are to promote education and training of employees in the water and wastewater sector, to encourage research in science and technology, to disseminate technical information, to promote the development and application of standards for water and wastewater treatment, water distribution and wastewater collection, to increase public understanding, and to promote sound public policy.

We intend to do so by:

Further, it is understood that this partnering agreement is conceived as a living document, meant to change as circumstances and priorities warrant, that it is a beginning point, and that the accompanying protocol of specific projects and activities is intended as an integral part of this understanding.

Further still, it is agreed that each signatory will appoint volunteer members to a joint task force which will monitor and review the implementation of the agreement from time to time, hold formal partnering sessions alternately in the Canada and a member State of Africa, and recommend amendments to the governing bodies of the respective associations as necessary and desirable.

It is also agreed that this partnering agreement will be instituted for an indefinite period, and will be reviewed by both associations annually and may be terminated by either association upon reasonable notice to the other.


Protocol

This protocol identifies specific projects, activities, and joint interests which the respective signatories have identified as initial steps and activities consistent with the goals and objectives established in the partnering agreement. We agree to pursue them in furtherance and priorities of the signatories.

Convention de partenariat
Union Africaine des distributeurs d'eau et l'ACEPU

Par cette convention, l’Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées (ACEPU) et l’Union Africaine des Distributeurs d’Eau (UADE) désirent établir entre elles un solide partenariat.
Les deux associations ont pour but commun d’accroître la qualité de la vie en protégeant et en améliorant l’environnement hydrique.

Leur objectif commun consiste à faire en sorte que toutes les personnes aient accès à une eau saine et non contaminée et que l’habitat des diverses espèces aquatiques soit préservé.

Pour parvenir à ces fins, l’une et l’autre s’appliquent à promouvoir la formation des employés du secteur des eaux potables et usées, à encourager la recherche en science et en technologie, à diffuser l’information technique, à faciliter l’élaboration et l’application de normes pour le traitement des eaux potables et usées, la distribution de l’eau et la collecte des eaux usées, à augmenter la compréhension du public et à favoriser une saine politique publique.

Les deux associations ont l’intention de faire ce qui suit pour réaliser leurs objectifs :

Il est en outre entendu que chaque signataire nommera des membres volontaires à un groupe de travail mixte, qui suivra et étudiera périodiquement l’application de l’entente, tiendra des séances officielles tantôt au Canada, tantôt dans un État membre d’Afrique et recommandera au besoin des modifications aux organes directeurs des associations respectives.

Il est également entendu que cette convention de partenariat sera établie pour une période indéfinie et réexaminée par les deux associations chaque année et que l’une ou l’autre association peut y mettre fin après avoir donné un préavis raisonnable à l’autre.


Protocole

Ce protocole précise les activités et les projets particuliers, de même que les intérêts communs reconnus par les signataires respectifs comme des dispositions et des activités initiales conformément aux objectifs établis dans la convention de partenariat. Nous nous entendons pour les poursuivre afin de faire avancer les priorités des signataires.