Partnering Agreement

Water Environment Federation and the CWWA

The Canadian Water and Wastewater Association (CWWA) and the Water Environment Federation (WEF), seek through this agreement to establish a strong partnership between our organizations. Our common purposes are to improve the quality of life through the protection and enhancement of the water environment. It is our common objective that all people may have access to clean safe water, and that suitable habitat for diverse aquatic species be preserved. Our common methods are to advance education, science and technology, to disseminate technical information, to increase public understanding, and to promote sound public policy. WEF through its Canadian Leaders Forum and its Canadian Member Associations will cooperate with CWWA in regard to liaison functions with Canadian federal government agencies and bodies.

We intend to do so by:

Further, it is understood that this partnering agreement is conceived as a living document, meant to change as circumstances and priorities warrant, that it is a beginning point, and that the accompanying protocol of specific projects, activities and goals is intended as an integral part of this understanding.

Further still, it is agreed that each signatory will appoint a volunteer member to a joint task force which will monitor and review the implementation of the agreement from time to time, hold formal partnering sessions, and recommend amendments to the governing bodies of the respective associations as necessary and desirable.

It is also agreed that this partnering agreement will be instituted for an indefinite period, and will be reviewed by both associations annually.

Executed this 14th day of October 2000.

D.W. Scott, P.Eng.
President / Président
Canadian Water and Wastewater Association
Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées

Albert W. Goodman, P.E.
President / Président
Water Environment Federation


CWWA /WEF Protocol

This protocol identifies specific projects, activities, and joint interests which the respective signatories have identified as initial steps and activities consistent with the goals and objectives established in the partnering agreement. We agree to pursue them consistent with the priorities of the signatories. For joint projects that involve financial resources the signatories agree to mutual sharing and disclosure of relevant budget and finances.


Goals

To achieve these goals, WEF and CWWA agree to:

Convention de partenariat

La Water Environment Federation et l’Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées

Par cette convention, l’Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées (ACEPU) et la Water Environment Federation (WEF) désirent établir entre elles un solide partenariat. Notre but commun consiste à améliorer la qualité de la vie en protégeant et en améliorant l’environnement hydrique. Nous voulons que toutes les personnes aient accès à une eau saine et non contaminée et que l’habitat des diverses espèces aquatiques soit préservé. Nos méthodes communes consistent à faire progresser l’éducation, la science et la technologie, à diffuser l’information technique, à accroître la compréhension du public et à promouvoir une saine politique publique. Le Forum des leaders canadiens (FLC) de la WEF et les associations canadiennes qui en font partie collaboreront avec l’ACEPU en ce qui concerne les activités de liaison avec les agences et organismes fédéraux.

À cette fin, nous avons l’intention de faire ce qui suit :

Il est en outre entendu que chaque signataire nommera un membre bénévole à un groupe de travail mixte qui suivra et étudiera périodiquement l’application de l’entente, tiendra des séances officielles et recommandera au besoin des modifications aux organes directeurs des associations respectives.

Il est aussi entendu que cette convention de partenariat sera établie pour une période indéfinie et réexaminée par les deux associations chaque année.

Signée le 14 octobre 2000.

D.W. Scott, P.Eng.
President / Président
Canadian Water and Wastewater Association
Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées

Albert W. Goodman, P.E.
President / Président
Water Environment Federation


Protocole

Ce protocole précise les activités et les projets particuliers, de même que les intérêts communs reconnus par les signataires respectifs comme des dispositions et des activités initiales conformément aux objectifs établis dans la convention de partenariat. Nous convenons de les appliquer pour servir les priorités des signataires. Pour les projets conjoints qui nécessitent des ressources financières, les signataires conviennent de partager leurs ressources et de se faire connaître l’un à l’autre leurs finances et budgets pertinents.


Objectifs de l’ACEPU et de la WEF

Pour réaliser ces objectifs, la WEF et l’ACEPU conviennent de ce qui suit :