Steve Bonk Scholarship

2017 Scholarship Information

In recognition of Steve Bonk’s guidance and development of CWWA and his roles as leader and ambassador of the water and wastewater sectors, a scholarship in his name was established by CWWA in 1995. The scholarship is intended to provide educational assistance to those embarking on careers associated with municipal water supply or wastewater. The scholarship of $500 will be awarded annually.


Applicants shall:

* To find out if your municipality or institution is a member, contact CWWA or go here to see list of utility members (click on the appropriate province/territory).


Applications in either English or French, shall be sent to:

Anita Wilson

by June 1, 2017 and shall include:

Don't forget to include your name, phone number, mailing address and e-mail. Tell us how you learned of the Steve Bonk Scholarship. Please note that the deadline will be strictly enforced and must arrive in the CWWA office by that time.


Selection will be on an equal opportunity basis with the assessment based on:
academic achievement - 30%; Statement/Essay - 60%; and Work experience/extra-curricular activities - 10%

Back to top

2016 Steve Bonk Scholarship Winner (Ryan LaRue)

Back to top

Past Winners

CWWA congratulates the past winners of the Steve Bonk Scholarship:

2015 Sarah Mitchell, McGill University
2014 Jim Ghoshdastidar, McGill University
2013 Christine Nassif, University of Toronto
2012 Elizabeth Simmons, University of Guelph
2011 Michelle Berquist, University of Toronto
2010 Matthew Taft, Trent University
2009 Ryan Calder, Concordia University
2008 Jennifer Wong, University of Victoria
2007 Monique Waller, University of Toronto
2006 Julie Anderson, University of Guelph
2005 Jeremy Kraemer, University of Toronto
2004 Sinéaid Lagan, University of Waterloo
2003 Sarah Elhadi, University of Waterloo
2002 Jason Vanderzwaag, University of British Columbia
2001 Trina Chung, University of Alberta
2000 Alison Kudelka, University of Waterloo

Back to top