# CANADIAN WATER AND WASTEWATER ASSOCIATION ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES EAUX POTABLES ET USÉES

# 36<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting Monday November 4<sup>th</sup>, 2024

5:15 pm Central Time RBC Convention Centre, Winnipeg, MB

The 36<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting was attended by the persons named in the Annex 1.

The following is a summary of the reports made, discussions and decisions taken.

#### Call to Order and request for completion of the Attendance Sheet

Jesse Hulsman (President) chaired the meeting. He confirmed we had a quorum and called the meeting to order at 5:15 pm. He asked all in attendance to sign in at the back of the room and he reviewed the by-laws for voting.

Jesse Hulsman (President) introduced himself and the Officers of the Board being Ryan Johnson (1<sup>st</sup> Vice President), Megan Lusty (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President), Richard MacEwen (Secretary-Treasurer), Vicki Campbell (Past President) and Robert Haller (Executive Director).

#### Item 01: Approval of the Agenda

Minor corrections were made to the dates on the agenda.

Moved by Jaime Boutilier and seconded by Yannis Kachani that the agenda be approved as amended.

Adopted

Item 02: Approval of the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of November 13, 2023 The members were given time to review the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of November 13, 2023.

Moved by Nicole Taylor and seconded by Mike Abbott that the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of November 13, 2023, be approved as presented.

Adopted

#### Item 03: Report of the President

Jesse Hulsman his President's Report noting the great success of the IWA World Water Congress. He congratulated William Fernandes and Robert Haller for their leadership and thanked the many volunteers. He also noted the work of the committees on advocacy efforts and informative fact sheets and reports.

#### Item 04: Report of the Executive Director

Executive Director Robert Haller thanked Jesse for his leadership before presenting his report that also noted the work put into the IWA World Water Congress. He also thanked the committee members and chairs for all of their advocacy. Robert then noted the retirement of Adrian Toth as Director of Government Relations after 24 years with the CWWA expressing what a loss this will be for the association and for the team.

#### Item 05: 2021 Financial Reports

Richard MacEwen (Secretary-Treasurer) presented the financial report and the audited statements for 2023. He stated that the auditor's comments were all positive and that our financial controls were all good. They had no issues with our financial systems. He noted that CWWA ended 2023 with a surplus of \$20,355 which will be added to our reserves. He noted that a not-for-profit association such as ours should target to hold between 6 months to a year of operating funds in reserves. The CWWA currently hold about 10 months of operating reserves, so we are in good shape. He noted the hosting of the IWA World Water Congress in August of 2024 and that we still await final accounting of that event. Richard noted that this will be his last meeting as Treasurer as his second term on the board has come to an end.

Moved by Richard MacEwen and seconded by Jean Lamarre to accept the 2023 Financial Report of the Secretary-Treasurer.

**Adopted** 

#### Item 06: Appointment of the Auditor for 2024 Financial Year

Richard MacEwen stated that the auditors for 2023 were Hendry Warren LLP and the Board is quite pleased with their work and results. They have submitted a quote to complete the 2024 audit. He suggested that we continue to work with them for 2024.

Moved by Richard MacEwen and seconded by Jeff O'Driscoll that Hendry Warren LLP be appointed as auditors for 2024.

Adopted

#### Item 07: Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of Directors

Vicki Campbell presented the report in her final role as the Past President. She explained the structure of the board and the process for replacing directors. Vicki explained that the following officers had completed two 3-year terms, but would remain on the board to fulfill their executive duties — Past President Jesse Hulsman (Nova Scotia) and Vice President Ryan Johnson (Saskatchewan).

Yukon Director Arcadio Rodrigues and Northwest Territories Director Chris Greencorn were also extended for another term on the board to represent their territories.

New Brunswick Director Nicole Taylor and ACWWA Director were elected for a second term of 3 years.

The following new members were elected in their province or by their regional association for their first 30year term: Doug Longmoore (PEI) and Dean Iamarino (WEAO).

Moved by Vicki Campbell and seconded by Megan Lusty that the following individuals be approved for a three-year term as Directors of the Board:

Nicole Taylor, New Bruswick Director

Mike Abbott, ACWWA Director

Doug Longmoore, PEI Director

Dean Iamarino, WEAO Director

Arcadio Rodrigues, Yukon Director

Chris Greencorn, NWT Director

And that Jesse Huulsman (NS) and Ryan Johnson (SK) have their terms extended for one year to complete their duties on the Executive.

Adopted

#### Item 08: Announcement of the 2024/2025 Officers of the Board

Jesse Hulsman, reporting from the meeting of the Board of Directors, was proud to announce the following slate of Officers for 2024/2025:

- o Ryan Johnson (Saskatchewan) as President
- o Megan Lusty (Nunavut) as First Vice President
- o Jaime Boutilier (OWWA) as Second Vice President
- o Brian Brost (Alberta) as Secretary-Treasurer
- o Jesse Hulsman (Nova Scotia) as Past President

These Officers now assume their full duties. No motion was required to accept the Announcement of Officers. Jesse transferred the Chain of Office to Ryan who then took over as Chair of the meeting.

#### Item 09: New Business

No new business.

#### Item 10: 2025 Meeting

President Ryan Johnson announced the 2025 AGM is tentatively schedule for November 5<sup>th</sup> in Victoria, BC in conjunction with the next National Water & Wastewater Conference.

### Item 11: Motion of Responsibility

Ryan Johnson introduced this item asking those present to adopt a motion of responsibility for the Board's actions over the previous year.

Moved by Rodney Bouchard and seconded by Nicole Taylor that the members hereby support and approve all expenditures, actions, and agreements undertaken by the Board of Directors and its officers and agents on behalf of the Association, as reported to the membership.

**Adopted** 

### Item 12: Adjournment

Moved by Rodney Bouchard, seconded by Terry Bender to adjourn the meeting at 5:32 pm.

Adopted - Meeting adjourned

## Annex 1 2022 CWWA Annual General Meeting Attendance

Greg Archibald, Pembina Valley Water Corp, MB

Diana Tao, TetraTech

Jean Lamarre, Ville de Montreal, QC

Richard MacEwen, Charlottetown, PE

Rodney Bouchard, Union Water Supply Systems, ON

Jesse Hulsman, East Hants, NS

Ryan Johnson, Buffalo Pound, SK

Nick Winters, Hamilton, ON

Iman Hashemi, OCWA

William Fernandes, Toronto, ON

Mike Abbott, CBCL & ACWWA

Yannis Kachani, Reseau Environnement

Jaime Boutilier, OWWA

Nicole Taylor, Moncton, NB

Renee Grosselle, Winnipeg, MB

Karim Abouzeid, Magnor

Michelle Grenier, OWWA

Megan Lusty, Government of Nunavut

Brian Brost, St. Albert, AB

Ted Molyneux, BCWWA

Doug Longmoore, Cornwall, PE

Vicki Campbell, Epcor Utilities

Jeff O'Driscoll, Associated Engineering & WCW

Dean Iamarino, Halton Region, ON & WEAO

Terry Bender, OCWA

Michele Grenier, OWWA

Darren Keam, WSP

Amy Winchester, CBCL+

Robert Haller, CWWA