Become A Member



Chairs: Beth Weir, Regional Municipality of York and Brent Burton, Metro Vancouver

Wastewater and Stormwater

The Wastewater and Stormwater Committee is a group of experts on municipal wastewater and stormwater treatment. The group provided coordination for CWWA’s advocacy activities on the Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulation and continues to monitor federal activities related to wastewater and stormwater regulation. The group assists in coordinating the wastewater and stormwater sessions at the National Water and Wastewater Conference.

Chair: Neal Klassen, City of Vancouver

Water Efficiency 

This Committee offers a national platform for information sharing and coordination on water efficiency issues. Part of the mandate is to help coordinate relevant sessions at the National Water and Wastewater Conference.

Chair: Ian McIlwham, Regional Municipality of Durham

Security and Emergency Management

The Security and Emergency Management Committee cooperates with Public Safety Canada and other federal departments concerned with emergency preparedness and national security. The Committee actively contributes to the knowledge base and federal programs related to critical infrastructure.

Chair: Steve Craik, Alberta Environment and Parks

Drinking Water 

CWWA’s Drinking Water Committee focuses on issues impacting water quality and treatment. The Committee monitors and reviews the National Guidelines for Drinking Water Quality, helps organize the drinking water streams at the National Water and Wastewater Conference, and forms an invaluable network of drinking water experts.

Chair: Carl Bodimeade, Hatch

Utility Leadership

The Utility Leadership Committee provides a forum for managers and senior staff of public utilities to discuss the challenge in utility management.

Chair: Hiran Sandanayake, City of Ottawa

Climate Change

The Climate Change Committee monitors and coordinates CWWA’s involvement on federal programs and initiatives to both mitigate and adapt to changing climate. Committee members participate in several national initiatives including Advisory Council on Flooding, National Working Group on Financial Risk of Flooding, National Working Group on Flood Mapping, Strategic Vision for Urban Water Management in Canada for the next 50 years representing the Association. The Committee plays a key role in organizing sessions at the National Water and Wastewater Conference.

Chair: Kaoru Yajima, Regional Municipality of Waterloo


The Biosolids Committee is a national advocate for the beneficial use of biosolids in Canada. The Committee is exploring means of functioning as an independent consortium within CWWA. Until a decision about the future of a national consortium are finalized the Committee is dormant.

Chair: Qing Zhang, EPCOR

Energy Efficiency

Terms of Reference coming soon

Chair: Jennifer Leno, Town of Coburg

Flushable Products

Terms of Reference coming soon

CWWA is a non-profit national body representing the common interests of Canada’s public sector municipal water and wastewater services and their private sector suppliers and partners.

Head Office
CWWA, Unit 11, 1010 Polytek Street, Ottawa, ON K1J 9H9 Canada

(613) 747-0524